Making A Quilt #quilt

1 Jul

I have started cutting the pieces for a quilt.  I have a lot of fabric that I want to make a couple of quilts out of.

There is something satisfying to me when I cut 5″ squares over and over again.

(Not sure what that means psychologically and DON’T TELL ME.)

Now, I said I was cutting the pieces but I do not know when I will start sewing the pieces together because during the week my full time job is looking for a full time job.

It’s fun to choose exactly how I want the print centered on the fabric.  Yes Mom, these are the Nick and Nora pajamas you bought me years ago!  I hope you don’t mind that they now have a different purpose.

The elf/gnome/troll motif is popular in Wisconsin.

This Venice, Italy print is from a skirt that I used to wear to work when I commuted to Manhattan.

This print is also from a skirt I used to commute in daily to Manhattan.  I still love the retro print.

This print is especially garish.  If you know me, which you don’t know me very well yet, you know I love garish, tacky things.

That is why my web site is kinda tacky. 

I really am not into fabric prints of little kids picking apples and the little girl has angel wings kinda stuff.

This print makes me especially jubilant!  Doesn’t it make you feel that way?  And very Wisconsin-centric!

I have a stock pile of Vera Neumann linen calendars, napkins and place mats and I am going to make a quilt out of all of them!

If you haven’t heard of Vera Neumann, you can Google her yo’self.

Yup.  I’m gonna chop these suckers up and it will be so satisfying!

If you want to buy all of these from me, then I won’t cut them up. 

This is a sweet little napkin (from a set of 4) that, yes, Mom you gave it to me!  I still have the matching table cloth and will not be cutting that up!

These two linen napkins are especially lovely because they depict how I feel.  At first unhappy because I haven’t sipped my martini yet, and then very happy because I downed that sucker!

p.s.  I cannot believe that it is already July 1!!!

3 Responses to “Making A Quilt #quilt”

  1. Donna Schlichting July 1, 2012 at 8:15 pm #

    Hi, Hey,I have those pj,s also,I haven’t cut them up yet , but it would get them out of the dark and into the light of day where I could enjoy the cuteness of the gnomes. I get a big kick out of your stuff. love you ,Auntie Donna

    • Critic Housewife July 1, 2012 at 8:24 pm #

      Auntie Donna! So glad to hear from you and perfect timing for you to comment on my pathetic quilt post, as you are the quilting EXPERT! Love you! xoxo

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Let’s try this again | Dreamz Happen Quiltz - July 1, 2012

    […] Making A Quilt #quilt (critichousewife.wordpress.com) Rate this:Oh come on!! Share this:FacebookTwitterEmailStumbleUponLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]

Leave A Comment!

