Edgewater Hotel in Madison, Wisconsin #edgewaterhotel

6 Aug

A friend of mine, Linda, invited me to The Pier Bar & Cafe at The Edgewater Hotel for lunch.  I also went back again a couple weeks later with my mom Clementine to take some additional photos.

Even though I have lived in the Madison, Wisconsin area for over four years, I had never even set foot in the hotel, so I was excited to see what it was all about.  It is in the most spectacular location and has the coolest logo, don’t cha think?  It’s the only lake-front hotel in Madison.

And I would like to say from the get-go that I had a great time at The Pier.  Good food and service. 

But I forgot to take photos of the food.

What was shocking was the interior of The Edgewater.  I thought it would be all Mid-Century design and just super cool everywhere but the interior was more…1980’s or 70’s?  I’m not sure.

I was shocked at the interior!  What an insult to the building, location, and City of Madison!

But in the August 3, 2012 issue of the local paper, The Isthmus, I read that The Edgewater Hotel is going to be redeveloped!  Whopee!  It will be a $98 million project.  The developer is Bob Dunn.

Yeah Bob Dunn!

When they renovate, they need to reuse the two chandeliers that are in the lobby.  Here is a close-up of one of them:

Here is my mom in the lobby:

See how the decor is?  Yikes!

Ok, so on to the cafe at The Pier!

This is what it looked like where we sat:

Where am I?  In Monte Carlo?  Nope.  In Madison, Wisconsin at the The Pier Restaurant!  It was fantastic to sit out by the water.

Linda said their planter box treatments were lovely, and I agreed:

And while we were waiting for lunch, we saw this cuteness:

Inside The Edgewater Hotel is the Admiralty Restaurant and The Cove Lounge.

The Cove Lounge

Here are a couple of the wonderful views from The Cove Lounge:

I think this is also part of The Cove Lounge – lots of glossies of celebrities who have come there:

It’s fun to look at all the photos.  Nicely framed.

Of course I had to go to the bathroom and here is how I saw it:

The Edgewater logo must continue to be used after the renovation!  Who will the interior designer be?

It will be the coolest of cool places to go when the redevelopment is finished! 

Madison deserves a super cool, trendy, modern hotel on Lake Mendota!

The Edgewater Hotel

666 Wisconsin Avenue  

Madison, WI 53703

608-256-9071

Leave A Comment!

