Hank Williams III #HANK III

8 Nov

hank_1392 blogI like all kinds of music.  I started liking country music at the age of 18.

So, if you think I started to like country music just because I moved to Wisconsin, you are wrong.

I have a new boyfriend.  His name is Hank Williams III or Hank Williams 3 or Hank 3.  In case you don’t know who he is, he’s the 40-years-young son of Hank Williams Jr. and the grandson of Hank Williams.  I love Hank Williams.  He died when he was only 29-years-young.  Turns out Hank 3 looks just like Hank Sr.

When Hank Williams Jr. was younger, he also looked more like his dad.  But he got into a terrible mountain climbing accident in 1975 and it changed his face.

Hank 3 came to Madison last year but I didn’t go see him and this year when I saw he was playing, I begged my hubby to go with me and he gave in.  One good thing about living in a small town is you can sit really close to the musician when there’s general seating.  We weren’t in the mosh pit though.  I’m too old for that…all that standing is not for me.  We were in the 4th row.  It was the first time I ever wore earplugs at a concert.

Hank 3 plays a four hour set!

Playing an acoustic guitar, the first couple hours Hank 3 sang country songs, and sang some written by his grandpa.

hank 3 band_9524 blog

All of the guys in the band were excellent.  I have never heard and felt bass so loud – it was vibrating through the venue.

The last hours were punk and heavy metal.  Unfortunately we only stayed for the first two hours but the next time he comes to town, I’ll stay for the whole concert and see him in his punk/heavy metal mode, playing the electric guitar.

What was so unusual and what I was extremely impressed with is during the two hours we watched him perform, he didn’t take a break – not even between songs.  One song ran into another. And when he changed his outfit from country to punk, he stayed on stage.  Seems like he sang 50 songs.  I love his voice – he sings high and low.

I’m not used to being so spoiled at a concert – I really got my money’s worth.

I liked his constant eye contact with the audience.  His musicians were amazingly talented too.

He has a new double CD out called Brothers of the 4×4 (I ordered it from the library).

I don’t think he has ever been on the CMA’s (Country Music Awards) because he’s a rebel.

I want him to become really famous, rich, and healthy.  I think it’s inevitable.

p.s.  I would love to photograph him!

One Response to “Hank Williams III #HANK III”

  1. I Am Jasmine Kyle November 8, 2013 at 8:57 am #

    Sounds like you and Hank go way back!

Leave A Comment!

