Madame Butterfly

28 Apr
DT200208

María Teresa (1638–1683), Infanta of Spain Artist: Velázquez (Diego Rodríguez de Silva y Velázquez) (Spanish, Seville 1599–1660 Madrid) Date: 1651–54 Medium: Oil on canvas

Who on earth can it be
coming up the path for me
what on earth will he say
shall I run to him or run away

Freaking out he’s come to get me
or my feet are stuck but just won’t let me
run to him do I dare
Madam Butterfly don’t blow it

Calling Butterfly, Madam Butterfly
that’s the name he used to call give
he’s my man till the day I die
oh sweet Butterfly, so sweet Butterfly
she’s waiting
he’ll be back, I have faith in this love track.

Malcolm McLaren’s version of this song from 1984 is my favorite.

So dreamy and avant-garde.  

Leave A Comment!

