Freddy Valentine’s Public House in Spring Green, Wisconsin

21 Jun

valentine_0329 blog

My husband and son discovered Freddy Valentine’s Public House (restaurant) while they were walking around in the lovely town of Spring Green, Wisconsin.  They had already eaten dinner somewhere else, but my son, mom and I came back a few days later to eat there.

valentines_0314 blog

Freddy Valentine’s is in the 1915 Spring Green State Bank Building.  I love the building – it’s beautiful on the outside and inside.

valentines_0327 blog

As you can learn by reading their website, the Neo-Classical Revival sculpture pieces on the front of the building look like marble, but they are really Terra Cotta.

valentines_0320 blog

The owners David and Jeaneane Owen have done such an incredible job decorating the restaurant while preserving and honoring the bank’s history.  I personally love being in the restaurant because it reminds me of Manhattan.  Sophisticated and comfortable.

valentines_0322 blog

I am not an architectural writer…but they repurposed many parts of the bank which adds charm.

valentines_0323 blog

The windows are incredible.

Another dining area.

Another dining area.

valentines_0318 blog

We ate in this lovely room.  We arrived before the restaurant filled up, and had the owner, David, all to ourselves!

I could see eating a leisurely meal at Freddy Valentine’s, drinking a lot of rich red wine or a martini, and passing out sleeping at the nearby House on the Rock Resort.

But what about the food?  We loved it all.

My mom was ready to eat her black bean burger but I made her stop so I could take a photo.

My mom was ready to eat her black bean burger but I made her stop so I could take a photo.

I ate the BBQ brisket sandwich. Scrumptious!

I ate the BBQ brisket sandwich.  Scrumptious!

My son ate every iota of the corned beef Reuben sandwich.

My son ate every iota of the corned beef Reuben sandwich.  Especially love the marbled rye bread.

Thank you for creating this restaurant, David and Jeaneane.  We will return many more times.

*******

Freddie Valentine’s Public House

134 W Jefferson St

Spring Green, WI  53588

Phone: (608) 588-0220

 

Leave A Comment!

