Pinterest and Getting Blocked @pinterest

8 Sep

images

I really value Pinterest. It’s my online scrapbook. I upload my own pins and of course pin other people’s pins.

Sometimes (rarely) someone’s Profile Page has so many amazing boards—I bookmark it so I can come back to it later. When I come back to their Profile Page, I look at all of their super inspiring pins and start pinning the ones I love.

One day I was very happily pinning away on one person’s boards. Imagine my shock when I went to pin another pin from her board and got a notice saying, “This person has blocked you.” What the fuck?

pinterest blocked

I was very upset that I was blocked. I didn’t even know you could be blocked on Pinterest! And I was pissed off because I spent so much time repinning her pins. I didn’t know I was doing anything wrong! She didn’t even know me! I am a good person!

So I Googled “I got blocked on Pinterest” to see what being blocked on Pinterest means. I don’t use Facebook anymore, but when I blocked someone on Facebook, it meant I didn’t want anything to do with them. This Pinterest board owner didn’t want anything to do with me? Isn’t it considered a form of flattery when someone repins a lot of your pins? Apparently not! Pinterest says if you get blocked it means, “your interaction with them was outside their comfort-zone.” Ugh.

What I learned from Google and reading various comments about being blocked on Pinterest is this:

  • Some Board Owners get annoyed if you pin too many of their pins at one time or per day! Pinning “too many pins” is called Board Raiding or Power Pinning. (I do not consider myself a Board Raider or a Power Pinner! The Board Owners apparently think that people who pin too many pins don’t have a life and don’t have any pins of their own to contribute.)
  • Board Owners will block you if they think you are copying complete boards.

A blocker said:

“I have blocked people. I have well over 100,000 pins, Sometimes someone will spend hours – life half the night pinning an entire board of mine. Lazy. The fun is in the hunt, figuring out how to do searches, finding things off-sight, getting creative and taking time to assemble interesting and well put-together boards. Then some lazy person comes along and decides to copy every single pin you have on a huge board that took many months or years to put together. This is not right.” (Note from Critic Housewife: This makes me sad that you have this attitude! It’s a public website. Make all of your boards private if you don’t want people pinning from them. You have a big ego and a false sense of entitlement, babe. I’m not pinning “every single one” of your pins because I don’t like all of them! I have a life! I’m not lazy!)

A commenter who had been blocked said:

“Why bother to create a board, fill it with thousands of pins, and then try to control the number of repins someone can make from your board? It’s not even their original photos…it’s just photos they found and “shared” on Pinterest…just like the rest of us.”

If you doesn’t want your pins repinned, then make your board private! Don’t block me because I repinned many of your pins—isn’t that what they are there for? For the user who blocked me, she had 43,000 pins. How can I pin what I want if I’m limited to only pinning a few pins a day? No comprende!!!

I can see blocking someone on Pinterest if you are being harassed or if you know someone and don’t want anything to do with them.

A video on Pinterest says we can pin “wild and free.” Not really, Pinterest! We need to be forewarned if we can’t pin “wild and free.”

Pinterest, here is what you need to do: Each Pinterest Profile Page needs to state what the board owner’s rules are about their pins, e.g.:

  • Pin freely!
  • I allow only 10 pins per day per person or I’ll block you. I have nothing better to do than to keep track of this.

Regarding the person who blocked me, I blocked her back.

7 Responses to “Pinterest and Getting Blocked @pinterest”

  1. ShoegazeAndCats February 20, 2017 at 12:51 pm #

    Glad to see I’m not the only one shocked by this kind of anal and petty behavior. I just realized I was blocked by someone and can’t think of any valid reason for it. This woman initially followed me, and I followed her in return due to similar topics/interests. I may have repinned some of her stuff occasionally but can’t remember doing anything excessive. Maybe I did it more often than she liked? It seems so weird to block a stranger on pinterest who’s never even said a word to you. Anyway, you’re right. If someone wants to hoard pins and set restrictions on what others can repin, they shouldn’t put them on public boards where the pins can be shared. It doesn’t make any sense at all to me…..Now I feel like there are some kind of unspoken etiquette rules to follow on pinterest I don’t know about that will get my account blocked by more obsessive pinterest nazis.

  2. Biglouis December 23, 2016 at 11:27 am #

    I can understand blocking someone if the photographs are your own or of items you yourself created. You may not want someone to copy them. In that case dont put them out there! People who make a board and then say you can only pin X or I will block you are being childish and pathetic. If someone blocks me I block them back. And if you blocked me and I really want one of your pins I will simply right click, copy it to a folder, and repin it at my leisure. So there is really not point.

  3. Rochelle hall November 18, 2016 at 10:09 pm #

    Thank you for this. I was feeling really hurt.

  4. Taliesin Bishop (@talibishop) October 20, 2016 at 5:41 pm #

    This happened to me today leaving me completely bewildered. Thanks for this post.

  5. misterslaughter99 September 26, 2016 at 8:38 pm #

    I was similarly blocked. Really stupid. Some people overvalue their cut and pastes or photos that they’ve copied from online.

  6. Trez Judd September 8, 2015 at 6:14 am #

    C’mon peeps! That is messed up to be blocked on Pinterest for pinning…A new low, for sure…What is wrong with people!!! Sheesh! There certainly are all type out there!

    • Critic Housewife September 8, 2015 at 6:44 am #

      Yes, there are all types and that’s what makes the world go around.

Leave A Comment!

